Alarm Engine Support Forum E27 vs M1 what am I loosing/missing?

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Frank Bason

I’m new to Elk but have been installing security and home automation with Napco and HAI for 20+ years. Although I notice differences (or at least I think I do) between the systems, what am I missing?

It would seem the E27 has similar features but built on a deferent platform at a better price point.

Help from someone with real time-tested hands-on experience with these products would be awesome.

Thanks

Michael Burrell

Frank,

Thank you for your interest in ELK Products. Your initial assessment is on the right track. The M1 Control has been our flagship offering, a well-proven system with a wide range of integrations and functions, as well as supporting products. The Alarm Engine platform introduces the new line of controls, with the E27 being the first model offered. We will be adding additional supporting products and offerings as this line matures.

The M1 targets the automation and high-end security market, competing with controls like HAI, Apex, etc. However, the M1 is versatile and can be used in various applications, albeit recognized as one of the more premium-priced controls on the market.

The Alarm Engine E27 is aimed at the middle market, catering to security dealers interested in smart home automation. While the E27 inherits successful rule configurations from the M1, it is a powerful control with distinct features, although not matching the full range of capabilities of the M1. We developed our own app for the E27, offering native Z-Wave control and a dedicated backend support system. ElkConnect.com is exclusive to the Alarm Engine Controls, while the M1 utilizes third-party applications and backend support.