Conflicts

At any time, customers may change their user codes. An installer may make an on-site support call and re-program the system. An operator may make a change to an account and not connect and send it to the system. Either of these situations presents a unique problem the next time ElkRP connects to the system. The operator wouldn’t necessarily want to change a user code without knowing whether the customer had already done so, for example. Historically, the only way to resolve this problem has been to receive the entire system and scan for changes manually

 

ElkRP has the unique ability to automatically detect differences between the system and the database. Further, ElkRP makes it very easy to resolve those differences.

 

If “Check for Conflicts” is enabled, ElkRP compares its database with the system’s programming immediately after it connects. Differences, if any, are displayed in a yellow window near the bottom of the screen called the Conflicts Window. This window remains visible until all the conflicts are resolved or until you disconnect. When sending, any items that exist in ElkRP but not the system will be automatically created in the system. For example if users 1 and 2 exist in the system and users 1, 2, and 3 exist in the database, ElkRP will automatically create user 3 in the system and send it. Any items that exist in the system but not ElkRP will be left alone. When receiving, any items that exist in the system but not in ElkRP will be created in ElkRP. Any items that exist in ElkRP but not the system will be left alone.

 

If “Check for Conflicts” is disabled, when sending, any items that exist in the system but not in ElkRP will be removed from the system. Any items that exist in ElkRP but not in the system will be created in the system. When receiving, any items that exist in ElkRP but not in the system will be removed from ElkRP. Any items that exist in the system but not in ElkRP will be created in ElkRP.

 

ElkRP can also check for conflicts again just prior to disconnecting. The system administrator enables or disables this feature with the Options command of the Setup menu.

Scroll to Top